Skip to main content

GPL Business Resources: Business Databases

 

Business Databases

Business Insights: Essentials  Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.

Small Business Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. The database offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.

Business Databases

Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Search this database of newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.

Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.

Mergent Databases

Mergent Intellect -  the the Dun and Bradstreet Directory database that includes more than 100 million private US, Canadian and global businesses and more than 6000 US public companies. Also included is a residential database, industry profiles, demographic reports and census data.

Who should use Mergent?

Start-up and small businesses can use Mergent Intellect to look-up specific companies or people, build lists of companies that meet certain criteria (location, size, annual sales, number of employees).

 Job seekers have access to a database with over 20 million employers in the U.S., and includes employers in Canada and Mexico. Mergent  helps career seekers  identify the Top Ten industries that employ your occupation, identify employers in those industries, and find jobs with those employers. 

 

 

Mergent Online

Mergent Online -  includes a database with financial details of over 14,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges; full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 U.S, companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. The international database contains detailed financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward. 

Mergent Archives

Mergent Archives - a database which offers a searchable collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries.  

Instructional Videos

EDGAR   U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission database provides 10-K, 20-F, proxy statements, some annual reports, and other financial statement.