Business.gov Business.gov is a result of 22 federal agencies efforts and is deemed the “U.S. Government's official website for small businesses.” It provides a wealth of information on all small business topics.
U.S. Small Business Administration This well-organized federal agency site provides among other things, a business start-up kit, financing and SBA loan information, links to numerous outside resources (private and state), online library reading room, and much, much more. This should be one of the first sites to consult.
Small Business Development Centers There are 900 sites around the country to assist small businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs. Many have websites linking users to reputable and quality resources when developing a small business plan. Researchers can also find information on franchising, demographics, industry information and more. Many also include tutorials on a variety of topics.
SCORE is a national non-profit association that provides advisory and small business mentoring services for people looking to start or grow a small business. SCORE is a resource partner of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and has been advising small businesses for more than 50 years.
IRS Small Business & Self Employed Tax Center Whether you're a small business or a self-emplyed individual, being able to get your hands on sound, accurate tax rules and regulations and how they affect your business is critical. This IRS website offers industry specific information and links to provide answers and guidance on common business tax questions.
Consumer Financial Protection Board The CFPB was created to provide a single point of accountability for enforcing federal consumer financial laws and protecting consumers in the financial marketplace. CPFB offers tools, answers common questions, and provides tips that help consumers navigate their financial choices and shop for the deal that works best for them.
United States Patent and Trademark Office The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs) A Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) is part of a nationwide network of Patent and Trademark Resource Centers public, state, and academic libraries designated by the USPTO to support the public with trademark and patent assistance.
U.S. Census Bureau A great starting point for demographic information. You can browse and search for data from many census sources. Scroll down to the site guide and select the links under Find Data, Business & Industry, People & Households.
Census Data Sites:
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Demographics Several programs at the Bureau of Labor Statistics make significant amounts of data available for specific demographic categories. Demographic categories used by the BLS include sex, age race, and ethnic origin.
Small Business Advisor Information International, an organization that advises and assists individuals who are considering starting or who are operating a small business, hosts this award-winning site. The site includes books, special reports, consulting services, and seminars as well as useful links on starting and operating a business, handling legal issues, and Web site and internet marketing. Extensive links on conducting business with federal and state government are included.
BizFilings Business Owner's Toolkit The Business Owner's Toolkit is a highly substantive site. Major chapters include Startup, Marketing, Finance, Running a Business, Office & HR, and Tax Center. The Tools & Forms section provides links to checklists, model business plans, forms, and other documents.
Entrepreneur Articles and webinars on all aspects of small business including social media, entrepreneurship, franchise, marketing, sales, technology and more.
The Riley Guide: Steps in Starting Your Own Business The Riley Guide, by Margaret F. Dikel, is a great resource for all things employment related. This site deals with small business concerns and contains links on how to obtain funding, dealing with legal concerns, getting started, and sources for getting help.
StartupNation A great site for entrepreneurs and would-be business owners, this site has it all; community space, articles, podcasts, online seminars and other information on all things small business.
Investopedia offers financial education material, including a comprehensive financial dictionary, access to articles, tutorials, FAQs, investment research, commentary, and calculators.
Crowdfunding for Individuals, Nonprofits, and Businesses Crowdsourcing.org is the leading industry resource offering the largest online repository of news, articles, videos, and site information on the topic of crowdsourcing and crowdfunding.
Bplans Bplans is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc., as a free resource to help entrepreneurs start and run better businesses. Top sections are Business Planning, Funding, Starting, Pitching, Managing Small Business Loans, Angel Investment, and Branding.
The Trade Show News Network (TSNN) is the world's leading news and online resource for the trade show, exhibition and event industry since 1996.
Entrepreneur Franchise 500 Annual rankings of top 500 franchises, articles and information about franchises.
Franchise.com Information about franchising, SBA approved franchising, financing and more.
Gartner Leading information technology research and advisory company. Some free research is available on the website.
Bplans.com Bplans is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc., as a free resource to help entrepreneurs start and run better businesses. Includes templates, articles and videos for business planning, funding, starting and managing a business, and more.
New York Business Express a comprehensive resource for starting, running, and growing a business in New York. Using a redesigned platform with new functionalities, NY Business Express helps a user to quickly learn about and access what they need in one central location.
Empire State Development (ESD) is New York's chief economic development agency. The mission of Empire State Development is to promote a vigorous and growing state economy, encourage business investment and job creation, and support diverse, prosperous local economies across New York State through the efficient use of loans, grants, tax credits, real estate development, marketing and other forms of assistance.
Division of Minority and Women's Business Development (DMWBD) The mission of DMWBD is to promote equality of economic opportunities for MWBEs and to eliminate barriers to their participation in state contracts. We supplement New York State's economic leadership with information and resources that increase access to information and opportunities for minority and women-owned businesses throughout the State.
Navigating NYS MWBE Certification provides helpful tips and tools to complete the online applications and detailed program eligibility requirements.
New York State Small Business Development Center assists small businesses and entrepreneurs with counseling, training, business research and other special programs
The NYS Corporation and Business Entity Database includes business and not-for-profit corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability companies and limited liability partnerships, as well as other miscellaneous businesses.
Nolo.com Self-Help Law Center Nolo (Berkeley, CA) has been a publisher of plain-English legal books, software, and forms for nearly 30 years. Everything published is regularly revised and updated by a staff of lawyer-editors. This site provides articles (with a sense of humor!) on almost any legal topic. The business encyclopedia contains information on business plans, financing, obtaining a business license, marketing, taxes and buying and selling a business.
Law Depot Business & Legal Forms free downloadable business and employment forms.
Thomasnet.com The primary source of product information for about 157,000 North American manufacturing companies. The database includes trade names organized into 50,000 product classes; includes industrial and commercial suppliers, maintenance, repair and operations (MRO) products, components, materials and equipment, CAD models (updated quarterly). A good resource for business-to-business information needs.
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. Established in the United States in 1937, it is used by government agencies to classify industry areas.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
SBA - Financing Your Business Information on government loans, estimatingh expenses, sources of income and other financial information
Small Business Investor Alliance – Since 1958, SBIA has provided over 57.2 billion dollars in financing to over 107,000 companies. The step-by-step guide contains information on the procedures to obtaining SBIC financing.
See Local Resources for small business lenders.