- First Find This link opens in a new window
FirstFind is an easy-to-use website with information and resources to help Westchester residents reach their goals. FirstFind.org will help you get your high school diploma, learn English, look for a job, update your computer skills, and find out if you qualify for benefits. - Westchester Connections This link opens in a new window
Westchester Connections is a resource guide and information service for persons need local services relating to housing, jobs, health care, education and family issues. This site has many resources for formerly incarcerated individuals. - LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
The leading online learning platform for anyone interested in business, technology skills, or creative skills. Use LinkedIn Learning from home or in the library. - Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. While rote memorization has its place, Mango does more. Through a wide variety of adaptable exercises and learning activities, learners pick up on new vocabulary, intuit unfamiliar grammatical structures, train pronunciation, and boost their cultural IQ. A text translator is provided. Download the mobile app from Apple's App store or the Google Play store. A Greenburgh Library card is required. - Tutor.com This link opens in a new window
Did you know that in addition to Live Tutors, adult job seekers can submit resumes and cover letters to Tutor.com experts for review? Within 12 hours, you will receive a rubric that outlines their document's strengths and weaknesses, and a version of their document with comments and explanations.
Job Hunting Skills
- FirstFind's Job Search Toolkit
Step by step guide to the job search process, created by FirstFind. - Manual de Búsqueda de Empleo
Spanish language version of FirstFind's Job Search Toolkit (Manual de Búsqueda de Empleo) Click to view/download. - Westchester Library System Career Coaching Services
This link opens in a new window
Westchester Library System offers specialized programs with trained professionals to guide you in your career path and link to job search resources.
Career Builder – An online job board and classified ads for 140 local & national newspapers
Craigslist – Listing of job postings throughout NY and nationwide
Indeed – The #1 job site worldwide
Monster- One of the most visited employment websites in the United States and one of the largest in the world
Simply Hired – US and international jobs from job boards, employer sites and the web
New York State Department of Labor: Find a Job - Resources to help you find a job, research careers, and learn about special programs for jobseekers in New York State.
USAJobs - The Federal government's official job list. Shown are employment search, information center, veteran information and forms.
USPS – United States Postal Service
Westchester County Department of Human Resources - Provides information about jobs with Westchester County government, its local jurisdictions, and Westchester Medical Center. Learn about current job openings, jobs in demand and upcoming civil service exams plus link to additional online job search resources.
Westchester Putnam Career Center Network- A powerful online platform to find great jobs in Westchester and Putnam Counties. Physical Career Centers are located in White Plains, Mount Vernon, Peekskill and Carmel, primarily staffed by Westchester and Putnam Counties, and NY State Department of Labor employees to provide free state-of-the-art technology, training, resources, and services to youth, adults, and employers.The Network also includes partner agencies who work in cooperation to provide expanded services.
Retirement Jobs - Full & part time job listings from age friendly employers.
AHA Career Center – American Hospital Association healthcare career advice and job postings
Accounting Jobs Today – career resources for accountants and financial professionals
Dice – job postings in the technology (IT) industry
eFinancial Careers – jobs in banking, accounting, and securities industries
Inside Higher Ed – jobs and career advice for higher education professionals
Engineering – Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing Trade employment site
Military Careers – information on jobs in the military
Senior Job Bank – committed to connecting employers to the over-50 workforce
Idealist - jobs in government, nonprofit, consulting, recruiting firms for nonprofit, social enterprise, internships and volunteer positions
Reserve Inc - a nonprofit that matches professionals age 55+ with organizations that need their expertise on a part-time basis for a modest hourly stipend; operates in Westchester County, New York and several other cities.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook - A comprehensive guide to career information about hundreds of occupations, employment estimates and growth, salaries, education, training, and licensing.
O*net Online - Detailed descriptions of careers for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers. Data includes job skills and abilities, work environments, salary ranges and more. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration, and developed by the National Center for O*NET Development.
Career Journal From the Wall Street Journal - Offers tips from the Wall Street Journal’s reporters and columnists on interviewing, changing careers, networking and negotiation; articles and resources on hiring activity, salaries, and other trends nationwide.
QuintCareers.com – Providing career development and job-hunting advice since 1996 through articles, tools, tips, samples, and tutorials, access to hundreds of major job boards, guidance for researching companies, and strategies for changing careers.
Glassdoor.com - An inside look at jobs and companies; anonymous reviews and salary data from employees and companies.
Vault.com - Resources, advice, and jobs for professionals and college students, grads and recent graduates in the areas of Investment and Finance, Law, Healthcare, Consulting, Internet, Consumer Products and Retail, Media Marketing, Technology and Science.
JobHuntersBible .com– The official website of Dick Bolles, author of “What Color is Your Parachute: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters & Career Changers”. The website is designed to be a compliment and supplement to the book. The book is revised and updates each year.
Irelaunch.com - Career reentry resource for employers, universities and individuals. A strong advocate for the unique value that returning professionals bring to the workforce, and for the employers that hire them.
LinkedIn.com -LinkedIn is an interconnected network of experienced professionals from around the world, representing 170 industries and 200 countries. You can find, be introduced to, and collaborate with qualified professionals that you need to work with to accomplish your goals. Free subscription to the Official Linkedin Blog offers useful information about new features, how-to-use and job search tips.
uptowork.com – Helpful posts including examples and tips about resumes, resume writing, cover letters, job interviews and job searching.
askamanager.com - Advice on a wide range of topics relating to job searching and careers.
Free Computer Training
If you want to improve your computers skills look at the Library's Teach Yourself Technology page. There your will find resources to increase your knowledge of Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and many more products.
Browse all of the online learning opportunities offered by the Greenburgh Library. Remember it is all free with your library card.
- Tech-Talk This link opens in a new window
Tech-Talk is a premier collection of articles and videos, written each week by top training experts for busy professionals and aspiring students. It helps people stay up-to-date in using technology and become better communicators in the workplace. Log into Tech-Talk with the username gpl and password gpl. - LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowLinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through the library's subscription, patrons have access to the Lynda.com video library of over 16,000 engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. Patrons have unlimited access to the entire collection 24/7 from both in the library or home. Download the mobile app: Library ID = westchesterlibraries