Skip to main content

Health & Wellness

NYS, Westchester County and Local Resources

 

 

New York State Department of Health  

NYS 

 Department of Health Toll-Free Helplines

NYS Community, Family & Minority Health - Links to Department of Health regulations and resources for specific populations; women's, minority, infants & children, etc.

NYS Consumer Health Care Information - Includes physician credentials and disciplinary actions, results of recent hospital and nursing home surveys, performance measures for managed care plans, and physician and hospital performance for cardiac bypass surgery. Consumers and providers will also find information on how to file a confidential complaint about healthcare quality.

NYS Medical Marijuana Program - New York State's Medical Marijuana Program allows patients who suffer from specific serious conditions who also have a condition clinically associated with, or a complication of, the serious condition to be certified by a practitioner to receive medical marijuana products for medical use. Practitioners must complete a four-hour New York State Department of Health (Department)-approved course and register with the Department to certify patients.

NYS Office for the Aging Programs and Services

NYS Provider & Health Plan Look-Up Tool -  The NYS Provider & Health Plan Look-Up, is an on-line tool that can be used by consumers to research provider networks and health plans offered through the NY State of Health Marketplace, including Qualified Health Plans, the Essential Plan, Child Health Plus and Medicaid Managed Care as well as  other NYS Medicaid programs including Managed Long Term Care Plans, Health and Recovery Plans, and other plans. Consumers can search for their preferred providers, including doctors and hospitals to see which health plans have those providers in their network.

Other Services/Organizations:

Hospice & Palliative Care Association of New York State - not-for-profit organization representing hospice and palliative care programs, allied organizations and individuals that are interested in the development and growth of quality, comprehensive end-of-life services. Find a hospice, palliative care program, veteran's services and other resources.

New York Online Access to Health (NOAH) - provides accurate, timely, relevant, and unbiased full-text health information in both English and Spanish. A joint project of The City University of New York Office of Library Services, The New York Academy of Medicine Library, the Metropolitan New York Library Council, and The New York Public Library. 

 

 

 Westchester County Department of Health - The Westchester County Department of Health is a community of professional public health workers who help you and your family enjoy better health.

Westchester County Helplines

List of Services  - Westchester County Health Services

Westchester County Children with Special Health Care Needs

Westchester County Clinic Providers

Westchester County Department of Community Mental Health  

  • Directory of Community Mental Health System of Services (2016 Edition, Revised March 26, 2018) -  lists local providers who treat mental illness, developmental disabilities and alcohol and substance abuse
  • Crisis Prevention and Response Team at (914) 925-5959
  • National Suicide Hotline (800) 273-TALK or (800) 273-8255

Westchester County Family Justice Center - FJC Helpline (914) 995-3100

Westchester County Health Insurance Access Program -The Westchester County Health Department offers FREE in-person assistance to individuals, families, small businesses and their employees who would like help applying for health insurance through the NY State of Health Marketplace. In-Person Assistors (IPAs)/Navigators are available at 24 locations throughout Westchester County and the Bronx.including the Greenburgh Public Library.  To schedule an appointment to meet with a Navigator or for more information about Program services, email the Health Department at hnav@westchestergov.com or call (914) 995-6350, between 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Westchester County Office for People With Disabilities - The Office for People with Disabilities provides assistance with transportation (Para-Transit) and can direct you to other resources.

Westchester County Office for Women - The OFW is Westchester County’s central resource for all kinds of information concerning women and families – domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, sexual harassment, legal issues, employment, child care, education, equal pay, financial planning, women’s health, caregiving and aging. If the Office for Women cannot answer your questions, the OFW will direct you to someone who can. Helpline (Main Office) (914) 995-5972; After hours and weekends (914) 995-2099

  •   Hispanic Outreach Program -  The Office for Women offers domestic violence advocacy, outreach and education to Spanish-speaking        women; Spanish Speaking, White Plains (914) 995-6581; Spanish Speaking, Yonkers (914) 231-2882
  •   Operation Talent Bank -  The Office for Women operates a job-finding program that includes job search skills and strategies. Westchester

Westchester County Seniors Nutrition, Health and Safety

Westchester County Social Services - The Department of Social Services provides an array of services to Westchester residents in need of help, including the areas of child support, food, housing, medical services and home energy costs. It also provides protective and preventive services for vulnerable children and adults

Choosing a Doctor/Hospital

Hospitals in Westchester County

The American Board of Medical Specialties® (ABMS®) - When a physician or surgeon is Board Certified by an ABMS specialty board, it means he or she has chosen to achieve expertise in a medical specialty or subspecialty by meeting the profession-driven standards and requirements of one (or more) of the 24 ABMS certifying boards. Find out if your physician or surgeon is board certified.

American Medical Association Doctor Finder- search for physicians by specialty in your area.

Castle Connolly America's Top Doctors - The doctors included in Castle Connolly's Top Doctor listings were selected after peer nomination, extensive research and careful review and screening by our doctor-directed research team. Doctors do not and cannot pay to be listed as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor

Consumer Reports: How to Find a Good Doctor - 9 steps to help you find the right doctor for you and your family

Healthfinder.gov - When you choose a primary care doctor for yourself or a loved one, make sure to choose a doctor you can trust.

 The Leapfrog Group  - a national nonprofit organization that produces  The  Leapfrog Hospital Survey  which collects and transparently reports hospital performance, empowering purchasers to find the highest-value care and giving consumers the lifesaving information they need to make informed decisions.

MedlinePlus.gov - choosing a Doctor or Health Care Service

New York Magazine Best Doctors - annual listing of the top physicians in every specialty.

New York State License Verification Search - search for licensed health professionals; includes a list of professions which are required to have permits.

New York State Physician Profiles - profiles for all licensed doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy who are registered to practice medicine in New York State. It can include optional information such as practice details (practice name, address, phone numbers, other doctors in the practice), health plans that the physician works with, publications, awards, etc.

Local Resources: 

 NonProfit Westchester  is an advocacy organization for not-for-profit organizations in the Westchester County.  The Members Directory offers a list, searchable by category,  description of services and links to NonProfit Westchester  member organizations.

   The following list includes links to some of the member organizations in NonProfit Westchester and a description of their services, as well as other organizations:

 Health and Human Services

  • Arc of Westchester - the largest agency in Westchester County supporting children, teens and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, including individuals on the autism spectrum, and their families.
  • Family Services of Westchester Inc - a nonprofit organization providing a broad range of social and mental health services.
  • Family Ties of Westchester - provides support and advocacy services to families in times of crisis and beyond.
  • Gilda's Club Westchester - The mission of Gilda’s Club Westchester is to create welcoming communities of free support for everyone living with cancer – men, women, teens and children – along with their families and friends. Call for appt. (914) 644-8844
  • The Guidance Center of Westchester - offers essential and lasting support to those challenged by mental illness, substance abuse, poverty, and homelessness; provides education, treatment, housing, and rehabilitative and vocational services.
  • Hudson Valley Community Services - HVCS’ mission is to promote prevention and wellness for all people, to encourage life-affirming decisions maximizing their quality of life, and to coordinate care for those living with complex health conditions.
  • The Loft LGBT Community Center -advocacy organization offering support, social groups, health and wellness and education.
  • Lower Hudson Valley Perinatal Network - Working together with its partners The Lower Hudson Valley Perinatal Network (LHVPN) advocates for and educates consumers and professionals about maternal, child and family health.
  • Mental Health Association of Westchester -  a leading advocate for behavioral health in the community, serving as a front-line resource for children, adults and families experiencing behavioral health conditions
  • Westchester Institute of Human Development - WIHD addresses major social and health issues by developing and delivering medical, clinical and support services to individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities and for vulnerable children their families and caregivers.
  • Westchester Jewish Community Services (WJCS)  - one of the largest human service agencies in Westchester, providing care to people of all ages and diverse backgrounds who are confronting significant challenges. Agency experts provide mental health, trauma, disabilities, youth, home care and geriatric services
  • Yes She Can, Inc. - The mission of Yes She Can is to help teen girls and young women with autism spectrum disorders to develop transferable job skills to enable them to join the competitive workforce and achieve greater independence.

Food, Housing,Shelter Assistance, Non-Residential Services  
  •  2-1-1 Homeless Shelters and Transition Housing -  provides the referrals for temporary shelter to homeless families, singles, and childless couples in the county. The office has a contractual relationship with not-for-profit agencies for the provision of case management services,  shelter facilities, transitional residences, and emergency apartments
  •  Grace Church Community Center - 35 Orchard St. White Plains, NY (914) 949-3112
  • GREENBURGH NUTRITION PROGRAM - Seniors 60 and over, homebound by reason of illness, incapacitating disability, or otherwise isolated, are eligible to participate.  A hot lunch is delivered each day and the suggested contribution is $3.50 per day.  For more information about the Home Delivered Program call Lynda Maranino at 989-1807.

  • Community Housing Innovations - Community Housing Innovations, Inc. provides the housing and human services that enable low- and moderate-income families and individuals to achieve the greatest social and economic independence at the lowest cost to society.
  • Hope's Door (888)438-8700
  • Hudson Valley Community Services - HVCS’ mission is to promote prevention and wellness for all people, to encourage life-affirming decisions maximizing their quality of life, and to coordinate care for those living with complex health conditions. Sexually Transmitted Diseases -  (for HIV testing) 914-345-8888.
  • Lifting Up Homeless Shelters - Open Arms Men's Shelter 86 East Post Road White Plains, NY 914-948-5044; Samaritan House Women’s Shelter 33 Church Street - 3rd Floor White Plains, NY 914-948-3075 x 9310.
  • My Sister's Place Emergency Shelter (800) 298-7233
  • People With Disabilities - Westchester Independent Living Center (914) 682-3926
  •  United Way's 2-1-1 Helpline - a free, confidential, multilingual service to assist the public in finding the answers to a variety of Health and       Human Services related questions about food assistance, housing assistance and shelters, abuse prevention, elder care, mental health     services, services for people with disabilities, where to get medical help and more. 
  • Victims Assistance of WestCOP, Inc -   Victims Assistance Services (VAS) provides free, comprehensive and compassionate services to crime victims and their families, friends and loved ones. 24-Hour Hotline - Sexual Assault or Incest (855) 827-2255 
  • Westchester Hispanic Coalition (855) 252-7942
  •  Westhab - Coachman Family Center - 123 E Post Rd, White Plains, NY (914) 949-1000

        Legal Assistance

Other Services

Backyard Sports Cares, Inc. BYS  Plus Program -  BYS Plus Program offers special needs children, ages 5-15, a safe and appropriately competitive program to learn and enjoy team sports. The activities focus on athletic development skills while stressing the proper behaviors required for optimal group cooperation

 Rock Steady Boxing for Parkinson's - Rock Steady Boxing, a 501(c) (3) nonprofit organization gives people with Parkinson’s disease hope by improving their quality of life through a non-contact boxing based fitness curriculum. In Westchester the program is offered at Lexington Ave Gym in Mt Kisco.