Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Greenburgh Public Library Blog

Read-Alikes for Hot New Fiction Titles

by Genie Contrata on 2022-06-03T05:09:00-04:00 in Authors & Writing, Books & Literature, What To Read | Comments

Check out these read-alikes for new and upcoming popular titles.

Waiting is hard, especially when there is a long waiting list for a new bestseller. These read-alikes will make the waiting a little easier. Check out our catalog and/or eLibrary to find all these titles and many more in our catalog. Need help? Contact us at (914) 721-8225.

Cover Art for City of Fire a novel by Don WinslowCity on Fire by Don Winslow
Two criminal empires together control all of New England. Until a beautiful woman comes between the Irish and the Italians, launching a war that will see them kill each other, destroy an alliance, and set a city on fire. Danny Ryan yearns for a more "legit" life and a place in the sun. But as the bloody conflict stacks body on body and brother turns against brother, Danny has to rise above himself. To save the friends he loves like family and the family he has sworn to protect, he becomes a leader, a ruthless strategist, and a master of a treacherous game in which the winners live and the losers die. From the gritty streets of Providence to the glittering screens of Hollywood to the golden casinos of Las Vegas, two rival crime families ignite a war that will leave only one standing. The winner will forge a dynasty. Exploring the classic themes of loyalty, betrayal, and honor, City on Fire is a contemporary masterpiece in the tradition of The Godfather, Casino, and Goodfellas--a thrilling saga from Don Winslow, "America's greatest living crime writer" (Jon Land, Providence Journal).
 

Read-Alikes for City on Fire

Cover Art Newcomer a MysteryNewcomer by Keigo Higashino; Giles Murray (Translator)
Available in print, cd audiobook and digital audiobook.

International bestseller Keigo Higashino returns with his latest mindbender--Newcomer--as newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kyochiro Kaga is assigned to a baffling murder. Detective Kyochiro Kaga of the Tokyo Police Department has just been transferred to a new precinct in the Nihonbashi area of Tokyo. Newly arrived, but with a great deal of experience, Kaga is promptly assigned to the team investigating the murder of a woman. But the more he investigates, the greater number of potential suspects emerges.
It isn't long before it seems nearly all the people living and working in the business district of Nihonbashi have a motive for murder. To prevent the murderer from eluding justice, Kaga must unravel all the secrets surrounding a complicated life. Buried somewhere in the woman's past, in her family history, and the last few days of her life is the clue that will lead to the murderer. From the international bestseller Keigo Higashino, author of The Devotion of Suspect X, comes one of his finest works of crime fiction yet.

 
Cover Art The Shadow DistrictThe Shadow District by Arnaldur Indridason
Available in print, large print and ebook.

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...